Politics and the Pen

Wednesday, May 10, 2017

6pm Reception | 7:30pm Dinner

2016 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing finalists - polipen 2016 Politics and the Pen

The Fairmont Château Laurier Ballroom

A highlight of our capital’s social calendar, Politics and the Pen is a grand celebration of Canadian political and literary cultures. Held annually at the Fairmont Château Laurier, this unique fundraiser brings together national politicians, talented writers, prominent diplomats, and notable arts and business leaders—all in support of the Writers' Trust's mandate to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing

Politics and the Pen 2017 will take place on May 10. As always, the climax of the evening will be the presentation of the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing, named in honour of the spirited and inspiring parliamentarian and generously sponsored by Aimia. 

Last year, John Ibbitson took home the 2015 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for his biography, Stephen Harper. This year's year's finalists were announced on March 21, and were selected by a jury composed of CBC foreign correspondent Nahlah Ayed, National Post columnist Colby Cosh, and former Member of Parliament Megan Leslie. Click below to read more about each finalist.

2016 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize Finalists

Kamal Al-Solaylee Brown 2016 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing FinalistKamal Al-Solaylee for Brown: What Being Brown in the World Today Means (To Everyone), published by HarperCollins Canada


Christie Blatchford Life Sentence 2016 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing finalistChristie Blatchford for Life Sentence: Stories from Four Decades of Court Reporting – Or, How I Fell Out of Love with the Canadian Justice System (Especially Judges), published by Doubleday Canada

Ian McKay and Jamie Swift The Vimy Trap 2016 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing finalistIan McKay
 and Jamie Swift for The Vimy Trap: Or, How We Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Great War, published by Between the Lines

James McLeod Turmoil, As Usual 2016 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing finalistJames McLeod for Turmoil, as Usual: Politics in Newfoundland and Labrador and the Road to the 2015 Election, published by Creative Publishers


Noah Richler The Candidate 2016 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for PoliticalWriting finalistNoah Richler for The Candidate: Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail, published by Doubleday Canada


The Writers' Trust of Canada extends enormous thanks to the 2017 Politics and the Pen co-chairs, Patrick Kennedy and Alayne Crawford and to committee members Jim Armour, Maureen Boyd, Heather Bradley, Catherine Clark, Elizabeth Gray-Smith, Dan Mader, Francoyse Picard, Elizabeth Roscoe, and Max St. Pierre.

For questions about Politics and the Pen, please contact:
Kayla Calder, Coordinator of Special Events and Sponsorships
kcalder@writerstrust.com or 416-504-8222 x243

2016 Event Sponsors

  • Aimia
  •  CIBC
  • Microsoft
Video Sponsor
  • Shaw
  • Amazon.ca
  • Bell
  • Canadian Professional Accountants Canada
  • Imperial
  • Visa
  • Bluesky Strategy Group
  • Bank of Montreal
  • CBC 
  • CN
  • Dentons
  • Genome Canada
  • Innovative Medicines Canada
  • Insurance Bureau of Canada
  • Lafarge
  • Morneau Shepell
  • Quebecor
  • Resolute Forest Products
  • Scotiabank
  • SNC Lavalin
  • CBA
  • Canadian Credit Union Association
  • Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association
  • Crestview
  •  Earnsliffe
  •  Fleishman Hillard
  • Fotenn
  • Gowlings
  • Hill+Knowlton
  • Doug Knight
  • MDA
  • National Arts Centre
  • Passmore Group Inc.
  • Rogers
  • RBC
  • Strategy Corp
  •  TD
    2016 Guest Writers 
  • Kamal Al-Solaylee
  • Antony Anderson
  • Peter Behrens
  • Mark Bourrie
  • Ian Brown
  • Nicole Casteran
  • Denise Chong
  • Andrew Cohen
  • Tim Cook
  • Susan Delacourt
  • Janice Dickson
  • Cherie Dimaline
  • Greg Donaghy
  • Robyn Doolittle
  • Max Eisen
  • John English
  • Terry Fallis
  • Dan Gardner
  • Camilla Gibb
  • Charlotte Gray
  • David Halton
  • Teva Harrison
  • Elizabeth Hay
  • Joseph Heath
  • Chantal Hébert
  • Norman Hillmer
  • John Ibbitson
  • Frances Itani
  • Colleen Jones
  • Sandra Martin
  • Lawrence Martin
  • Monia Mazigh
  • Dalton McGuinty
  • Lindy Mechefske
  • Alain Miguelez
  • Jody Mitic
  • Saleema Nawaz
  • Don Newman
  • Andrew Nikiforuk
  • Kevin Page
  • Bob Plamondon
  • Waubgeshig Rice
  • Reva Seth
  • Russell Smith
  • John Stackhouse
  • Don Tapscott
  • Sheila Watt-Cloutier
  • Paul Wells
  • Les Whittington
  • Alissa York
    2016 Guest Politicians 
  • Mr./M. Will Amos
  • Hon./L’hon. Navdeep Bains
  • Mr./M. John Barlow
  • Hon./L’hon. Carolyn Bennett
  • Hon./L’hon. Maxime Bernier
  • Hon./L’hon. Douglas Black
  • Hon./L’hon. Steven Blaney
  • Mr./M. Randy Boissonnault
  • Hon./L’hon. Scott Brison
  • Mr./M. Gordon Brown
  • Ms./Mme Celina Caesar-Chavannes
  • Hon./L’hon. Jim Carr
  • Hon./L’hon. Michael Chong
  • Hon./L’hon. Tony Clement
  • Mr./M. Nathan Cullen
  • Mr./M. Rodger Cuzner
  • Hon./L’hon. Jean-Yves Duclos
  • Hon./L’hon. Kirsty Duncan
  • Hon./L’hon. Ed Fast
  • Mr./M. Greg Fergus
  • Hon./L’hon. Judy Foote
  • Hon./L’hon. Hedy Fry
  • Hon./L’hon. Marc Garneau
  • Hon./L’hon. Ralph Goodale
  • Mr./M. Raj Grewal
  • Hon./L’hon. Peter Harder
  • Mr./M. Mark Holland
  • Ms./Mme Gudie Hutchings
  • Hon./L’hon. Mélanie Joly
  • Ms./Mme Yvonne Jones
  • Ms./Mme Jenny Kwan
  • Mr./M. David Lametti
  • Hon./L’hon. Kellie Leitch
  • Mr./M. Andrew Leslie
  • Mr./M. Steve MacKinnon
  • Ms./Mme Elizabeth May
  • Ms./Mme Karen McCrimmon
  • Hon./L’hon. John McKay
  • Hon./L’hon. Catherine Mary McKenna
  • Hon./L’hon. Maryam Monsef
  • Hon./L’hon. Jim Munson
  • Ms./Mme Joyce Murray
  • Mr./M. Pierre Nantel
  • Hon./L’hon. Deepak Obhrai
  • Hon./L’hon. Erin O’Toole
  • Hon./L’hon. Lisa Raitt
  • Hon./L’hon. Geoff Regan
  • Mr./M. Pablo Rodriguez
  • Ms./Mme Kim Rudd
  • Mr./M. Raj Saini
  • Hon./L’hon. Andrew Scheer
  • Mr./M. Peter Schiefke
  • Hon./L’hon. Hunter Tootoo
  • Mr./M. Adam Vaughan

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2016.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc