Writers' Trust McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize

Winner: $10,000; Finalists: $2,000

Journey Prize submissions


Prize Guidelines

Highlighting the best of Canada's new writers, the Writers’ Trust / McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize is awarded annually to an emerging author for a short story or excerpt from a fiction work-in-progress first published by a Canadian magazine or annual anthology during the previous calendar year. This award is made possible by James A. Michener’s generous donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his novel Journey, published by McClelland & Stewart in 1988.

The winner receives a $10,000 prize and two finalists each receive $1,000. In recognition of the vital role literary magazines play in discovering new authors, the journal that published the winning entry receives $2,000. The prize is presented annually at the Writers’ Trust Awards in Toronto. 


The deadline for submissions has been extended until February 21, 2018.

Eligible Canadian literary print and online publications may submit up to three short stories or excerpts from fiction works-in progress by a Canadian citizen or permanent resident. Stories submitted directly by authors will not be accepted. The Journey Prize is designed to support new and developing Canadian writers during the early stages of their career and reserves the right to decide whether a submitted writer qualifies based on this mandate.

Writers who have published more than one book of fiction, have won national awards for their fiction, or whose fiction has already received substantial attention are not eligible for consideration. Eligible writers may have appeared in earlier volumes of The Journey Prize Stories anthology but cannot have won the top prize before. Entries by writers who are currently on the masthead of the submitting publication are not eligible. With the exception of annual anthologies, entries must not have been published in book form at the time of submission. For complete details please visit the submission form page.

In consideration of the possible ambiguity around the meaning of the phrase “nominated for the Journey Prize” —  with that phrase being used both by writers whose stories have been selected by the judges to appear in The Journey Prize Stories anthology and, on occasion, by writers whose stories were submitted to the prize but not selected for the anthology — we would request that editors, in their correspondence with the writers they are putting forward for the prize, clarify that these writers should refer to themselves as having been “nominated by X magazine for the Journey Prize” or as “X magazine’s nominee for the Journey Prize” unless they hear further from the Journey Prize.

Jury Composition

The three-person jury is appointed by McClelland & Stewart and the Writers’ Trust of Canada but acts independently in selecting stories for the Journey Prize Stories, the contents of which constitute a long-list for the prize. The winner and finalists for the Journey Prize are selected by the same jury from among the stories that appear in the current edition of the Journey Prize Stories, published annually in the fall by McClelland & Stewart.
Questions? Please email jolee@penguinrandomhouse.com or visit The Journey Prize on Facebook.




Woodcock Fund


Journey Prize

Feb 21, 2018

Berton House Writers' Retreat

Feb 21, 2018

RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Mar 5, 2018

Writers' Trust Fellowship

Mar 12, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


Mar 14 for books published between Oct 1, 2017 and Mar 13, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc