Dayne Ogilvie Prize for an Emerging LGBTQ writer

Winner: $4,000

Prize Guidelines

The Dayne Ogilvie Prize provides $4,000 annually to an emerging gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or queer writer who demonstrates great promise through a body of work of exceptional quality. It is the only prize of its kind in Canada serving the LGBTQ community. One or two additional writers receive a $250 honorarium as Honour of Distinction recipients in recognition of their career success to date.

Writers who identify themselves as gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or queer, and have had at least one book published by a Canadian publisher, are eligible. They must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents. While no age restriction exists, the grant is intended for writers who are developing in their writing career and not for well-established writers. Annually, a three-person jury will be convened to select the recipient of the award.

An independent jury selects the winner, and there is no submission process.




Woodcock Fund


Journey Prize

Feb 21, 2018

Berton House Writers' Retreat

Feb 21, 2018

RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Mar 5, 2018

Writers' Trust Fellowship

Mar 12, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


Mar 14 for books published between Oct 1, 2017 and Mar 13, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc