Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers

Winner: $4,000; Finalists: $250
Sponsored by Robin Pacific

2018 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers

Join us for a celebration in honour of the 2018 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers at the Canadian Writers' Summit in Toronto on June 16, where we'll announce this year's $4,000 winner. This prize is presented annually to an emerging Canadian writer from the LGBTQ community who demonstrates great promise through a body of work of exceptional quality. Three finalists will be announced on May 17.

Saturday, June 16, 2018
Brigantine Room, Habourfront Centre Main Building
RSVP via Facebook

2017 Winner

Finalist_Thom, Kai-Cheng
Kai Cheng Thom 
is a writer, performance artist, and psychotherapist. She has been widely published as an essayist and poet, and is currently a feature writer at Everyday Feminism. Thom is the author of the poetry collection A Place Called No Homeland and the novel Fierce Femmes and Notorious Liars, for which she was nominated for a Lamba Literary Award. She lives in Toronto.


Finalist_Blythe, Ali
Ali Blythe 
is the editor-in-chief of The Claremont Review. His poetry collection, Twoism, was nominated for the Dorothy Livesay Prize earlier this year. Blythe completed a residency at the Banff Centre and a writing degree at the University of Victoria, receiving the Candis Graham Writing Scholarship from the Lambda Foundation. He lives in Vancouver.


Finalist_Crocker, Eva
Eva Crocker
’s short story collection Barrelling Forward was shortlisted as a manuscript for the 2015 RBC Fresh Fish Award for Emerging Writers. Her stories have been published in Riddle FenceThe Overcast, and The Cuffer Anthology. Crocker recently completed an M.A. in English literature at Memorial University. She lives in St. John’s.


Past winner Leah Horlick hosted the 2017 Dayne Ogilvie Prize ceremony on Saturday, June 3 in Vancouver. The winner received $4,000 and each finalist received $250 and promotional support from the Writers’ Trust of Canada.


Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers 2017 jury author Jane Eaton Hamilton, journalist Elio Iannacci, and academic Trish Salah


Jane Eaton Hamilton is the author of nine books of fiction and poetry. She has been shortlisted for the BC Book Prize and the Pat Lowther Award and has won first prize in the CBC Literary Awards and the PRISM international Short Fiction Contest (twice). A queer activist, Hamilton was one of the litigants in Canada’s landmark same-sex marriage case. She lives in Vancouver.

Elio Iannacci is an award-winning journalist and writer. His work has appeared in Maclean’s, The Globe and Mail, National Post, UR Chicago, and Flare as well as several American, Italian, and German periodicals. A fashion and pop culture expert, Iannacci has been featured on CNN’s Showbiz Tonight, MTVCanada, Fashion Television, Much Music, Breakfast Television, and Entertainment Tonight. He lives in Toronto. 

Trish Salah is a poet and a professor of gender studies at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. She works in the area of transnational studies in gender, sexuality, race, and minority cultural production. Salah is the author of two books: Lyric Sexology, Vol. 1 and Wanting in Arabic, for which she won a Lambda Literary Award. 

About the Prize

Dayne Ogilvie CR Danny Ogilvie, courtesy Gary AkinheadThe Dayne Ogilvie Prize was established in 2007 by Robin Pacific in honour of her late friend, who was a respected editor, writer, literary manager, and passionate lover of all the arts. He died in October 2006.

Presented for the 12th year in 2018, the Dayne Ogilvie Prize rewards emerging writers whose body of work demonstrates great potential and who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer. Past winners of the prize include Amber Dawn, Farzana Doctor, Zoe Whittall, and Michael V. Smith.

About the Sponsor

The Dayne Ogilvie Prize is funded by an endowment established by artist Robin Pacific in honour of her late friend Dayne Ogilvie.




Woodcock Fund



Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


May 16 for books published between Mar 14 and May 15, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc