Writers’ Trust / McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize

Winner: $10,000; Finalists: $1,000; Magazine: $2,000 

Shortlist: September 12, 2018

The Writers’ Trust / McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize recognizes new and developing writers for the best short story first published in a Canadian literary journal during the previous year.

2018 Longlist

2018 Journey Prize longlist


Sharon BalaSharon Bala lives in St. John’s, where she is a member of The Port Authority writing group. In 2017, two of her short stories were included in The Journey Prize Stories 29, and her story “Butter Tea at Starbucks” went on to win the Writers’ Trust / McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize. Her debut novel, The Boat People, was a #1 national bestseller and was a finalist for CBC’s Canada Reads and the Amazon Canada First Novel Award. For more about her writing, visit SharonBala.com.

Kerry ClareKerry Clare is a National Magazine Award-nominated writer, editor of The M Word: Conversations About Motherhood, and author of the novel Mitzi Bytes. She is the editor of the Canadian books website 49thShelf.com, and has been writing about books and reading on her blog, Pickle Me This, for more than a decade.

Zoey Leigh PetersonZoey Leigh Peterson was born in England, grew up in the United States, and has spent most of her adult life in Canada. Her fiction has appeared in The Walrus, EVENT, Grain, PRISM international, and has been anthologized in The Journey Prize Stories and Best Canadian Stories. She is the recipient of the Far Horizons Award for Short Fiction and the Peter Hinchcliffe Fiction Award. Her debut novel, Next Year, For Sure, was longlisted for the 2017 Scotiabank Giller Prize and shortlisted for the BC Book Prize’s Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize and a Lambda Literary Award.

About the Prize

The Journey Prize is made possible by James A. Michener’s donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his 1998 novel Journey. The award annually recognizes emerging writers for the best short story first published in a Canadian literary journal. Each Journey Prize finalist receives $1,000, the prizewinner receives a total of $10,000, and the journal that originally published the winning entry receives $2,000. In association with the prize, McClelland & Stewart publishes The Journey Prize Stories anthology, a collection of the stories that form the longlist for the prize.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are reading this summer.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc