About the Writers' Trust of Canada

We are no longer administering a contest for highschol writers. Please use our signup form if you would like to receive information about any future Writers' Trust highschool writing contests.

The Writers’ Trust was founded by five notable Canadian authors — Margaret AtwoodPierre BertonGraeme GibsonMargaret Laurence, and David Young — to encourage a flourishing writing community in this country.

To advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing.

To champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers in this country, and to create connections between writers and readers.

Writers' Trust programming includes:

  • Canada’s largest privately-funded collection of literary awards
  • The Woodcock Fund, a one-of-a-kind grant for creators facing unforeseen financial need
  • Berton House, Canada’s northernmost writers’ retreat
  • Humber School for Writers correspondence program scholarships aimed at emerging writers
  • The annual Margaret Laurence Lecture Series, detailing the development of our national writing community

Through these various initiatives the Writers’ Trust provides opportunities, rewards successes, and enables writers to stand at the forefront of Canadian culture.

Keep in touch with the Writers' Trust by following us on Twitter @writerstrust or liking us on Facebook at facebook.com/writerstrust. We like to post about writing contests, Canadian literary awards, and general bookish fun.

Charitable Registration Number: 119305076RR0001

About the Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction

/HWWTP_logoThe prize is awarded for literary excellence in the category of nonfiction, which includes, among other forms, personal or journalistic essays, history, biography, memoirs, commentary, and criticism, both social and political.

Finalist works will, in the opinion of the jury, demonstrate a distinctive voice, as well as a persuasive and compelling command of tone, narrative, style, and technique. This award succeeds the Writers’ Trust Nonfiction Prize, which was established in 1997. Read more

About the Honourable Hilary M. Weston, CM, OOnt

Weston_Hilary_Hon. Hilary M. Weston served as the 26th lieutenant-governor of Ontario from 1997 to 2002. As the Queen’s representative in Ontario, Mrs. Weston was responsible for the Crown’s constitutional and representational roles in the province. Since leaving public office, Mrs. Weston has continued to pursue her diverse interests. She led the largest fundraising campaign in Canadian cultural history, is a trustee of St. George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle, and serves on the board of the Art Gallery of Ontario. Mrs. Weston has also served as deputy chair of the board of Holt Renfrew, promoting Canadian designers in the retailing business.

Mrs. Weston founded the Ireland Fund of Canada and remains a patron of this non-denominational organization promoting peace in Ireland. She served as first chancellor of the Order of Ontario, was appointed a member of the Order of Canada in 2003, and is the recipient of six honorary degrees.


If you have any questions about this contest, please contact:

Katrina Afonso, Community Manager
Toll Free: 1 877 906-6548 x 246

460 Richmond Street West, Suite 600
Toronto, Ontario  M5V 1Y1






For Teachers



Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc