2015 Writers' Trust Fellow

Michael Crummey, St. John’s

Michael Crummey WT Fellow 
Selected Publications

  • Hard Light (1998)
  • River Thieves (2001)
  • The Wreckage (2005)
  • Galore (2009)
  • Sweetland (2014)
  • Little Dogs (forthcoming, 2016)

About the Author

Michael Crummey WT Fellow

Michael Crummey is a poet and fiction writer. His writing often draws upon the history and landscape of Newfoundland and Labrador, where he was born and raised. Initially, he found recognition through his poetry winning the inaugural Bronwen Wallace Memorial Award for young unpublished writers in 1994. His first novel, River Thieves, was shortlisted for the Giller Prize, the Commonwealth Prize, and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. In 2007 he received the Timothy Findley Award recognizing the entirety of his body of work. His recent novels, Galore and Sweetland, were finalists for the Governor General’s Literary Award. Next spring he will publish a collection of poems, Little Dogs, with House of Anansi Press. Crummey lives in St. John’s.

Jury Citation

Of the cacophony of voices carrying across the wind from Newfoundland and Labrador in recent years, none is so vibrant, so perceptive, and so damn fun, as that of Michael Crummey. A poet of tremendous skill and a novelist of the truest heart, his books capture the outports and villages, the islands and waters, the people and language that make the province unlike anywhere else in Canada. Yet his work is universal, too. He writes about family and loneliness, love and loss, childhood and aging, with a storyteller’s flair for the dramatic and a poet’s ear for words. Simply, he is a beautiful writer.

About the Writers’ Trust Fellowship  

The Fellowship will annually award one writer $50,000 for demonstrating exceptional creative ability and outstanding promise in their publications to date, and displaying promise to add to that work. Writers working in the categories of fiction, literary nonfiction, poetry, or literature for young people, and at any stage of their careers, are considered. Writers are considered without regard to whether or not they have been or are likely to be recipients of other literary honours or achieve commercial success. The Writers’ Trust Fellowship was inaugurated in 2015 as a three-year initiative.




Woodcock Fund


Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 201 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are reading this summer.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc