2017 Writers' Trust Fellow

The Writers’ Trust Fellowship annually awards one writer $50,000 for demonstrating exceptional creative ability and outstanding promise in their publications to date. The Fellowship intends to free writers substantially from financial concerns and provide a window in which they can work with as much creative freedom as possible.

Eden Robinson, Kitamaat, British Columbia

Eden Robinson WT Fellow 
Selected Publications

  • Son of a Trickster (2017)
  • Blood Sports (2007)
  • Monkey Beach (2001)
  • Traplines (1998)

2017 Writers' Trust Fellowship recipient Eden Robinson, Son of a Trickster, Blood Sports, Monkey Beach, Traplines

About the Author

Eden Robinson is a novelist and short fiction writer from the Haisla and Heiltsuk First Nations. Her debut collection of stories, Traplines, won Britain’s Winifred Holtby Prize in 1997. Her first novel, Monkey Beach, which combines contemporary realism with Haisla mysticism, was shortlisted for the Giller Prize and a Governor General’s Literary Award, and received the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. Her most recent novel, Son of a Trickster, the first volume in a projected trilogy, was published earlier this year and has been shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. Robinson gave the 2010 Henry Kreisel Memorial Lecture, which was published as the memoir The Sasquatch at Home: Traditional Protocols & Modern Storytelling. She is a recipient of the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award and the University of Victoria’s Distinguished Alumni Award. She has been a Writer-in-Residence at the Whitehorse Public Library, and works with the Writers in Electronic Residence program, which links schools across the country with professional writers. Robinson lives in Kitamaat Village, BC.

Eden Robinson

Jury Citation

Eden Robinson is all about story. With razor-sharp precision, madcap humour, and a preternatural gift for dialogue, she creates stories that are sometimes brutal, often compassionate, and always disarming. Hers are stories that must be told, and that must be read, stories that move at a cracking pace. In the wake of the blunt trauma of colonization and its ensuing dislocation and dysfunction, Eden Robinson’s characters are magnetic, resilient, and spirited, even when they might be a bit twisted. She brings a fresh and fearless perspective to the literature of this land. Our country is richer for the writing of Eden Robinson.

About the Writers’ Trust Fellowship  

Created to honour the leading writers of our time, the Writers’ Trust Fellowship annually awards one writer $50,000 for demonstrating exceptional creative ability and outstanding promise in their publications to date, and displaying promise to add to that work. Writers working in the categories of fiction, literary nonfiction, poetry, or literature for young people, and at any stage of their careers, are considered. The Writers’ Trust Fellowship was inaugurated in 2015 as a three-year initiative. In 2017 it was announced that the Fellowship would continue as an annual program.




Woodcock Fund


Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 201 and September 18, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are reading this summer.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc