Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now


The Writers’ Trust of Canada Announces the Jury for the 2013 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction

July 22, 2013
Toronto – The Writers’ Trust of Canada is proud to announce the three-member jury for the 2013 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction. The jurors are: novelist and cultural critic Hal Niedzviecki; 2012 prize winner Candace Savage; and writer Andreas Schroeder, one of Canada’s most respected creative nonfiction instructors.

“It is exciting to know that the wheels of this year’s prize are set in motion and these three great writers are devouring the many works submitted,” said the Honourable Hilary M. Weston. “I look forward to discovering the titles they nominate for this year’s shortlist, and to sharing them with readers in Canada and around the world.”

The prize is the richest annual literary award for a book of nonfiction published in Canada, awarding $60,000 to the eventual prize winner and $5,000 to each nominee.

Finalists will be announced on September 18, 2013 at a press conference in the Loblaws® at Maple Leaf Gardens* store in Toronto. The prize winner will be announced at a gala presentation in the Art Gallery of Ontario on October 21, 2013.

“The Writers’ Trust is proud to showcase the tremendously talented writers of nonfiction we have in this country,” said Mary Osborne, Writers’ Trust executive director. “We are extremely grateful to Mrs. Weston for her vision and personal support in creating such a rich opportunity for our writers.”

Niedzviecki_HalHal Niedzviecki is a writer, cultural critic, and editor. He co-founded Broken Pencil, a literary magazine devoted to underground arts and zine culture. Niedzviecki has published several works of fiction and nonfiction, including Hello, I’m Special: How Individuality Became the New Conformity and The Peep Diaries: How We’re Learning to Love Watching Ourselves and Our Neighbours, which was adapted into a documentary in 2011. He lives in Toronto.

Savage_CandaceCandace Savage won the 2012 Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction for A Geography of Blood: Unearthing Memory from a Prairie Landscape. She is the author of more than two dozen nonfiction books on an impressive breadth of subjects, from the cosmic science of the aurora to the inner workings of a beehive. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, she splits her time between Saskatoon and Eastend, Saskatchewan.

Schoeder_AndreasAndreas Schroeder is a writer of many genres (nonfiction, fiction, journalism, poetry, and translation) who lives in Roberts Creek, British Columbia. He teaches in the University of British Columbia’s Creative Writing Department, where he holds the Rogers Communications Chair in Creative Nonfiction. Schroeder played an instrumental role in the establishment of the Public Lending Right Program, which distributes annual payments to Canadian authors as compensation for the free public access to their books in Canadian public libraries.

About Mrs. Hilary M. Weston, CM, OOnt

Hilary Weston

Hilary M. Weston served as the 26th lieutenant-governor of Ontario from 1997 to 2002. As the Queen’s representative in Ontario, Mrs. Weston was responsible for the Crown’s constitutional and representational roles in the province. Since leaving public office, Mrs. Weston has continued to pursue her diverse interests. She led Renaissance ROM, the largest fundraising campaign in Canadian cultural history, transforming the Royal Ontario Museum in Toronto. She is a trustee of St. George’s Chapel at Windsor Castle and serves on the board of the Art Gallery of Ontario. Mrs. Weston is also a corporate director of Wittington Investments and Selfridges Group Ltd. She has served as deputy chair of the board of Holt Renfrew, promoting Canadian designers in the retailing business.

Mrs. Weston founded the Ireland Fund of Canada and remains a patron of this non-denominational organization promoting peace in Ireland. Her interests in homes and gardens resulted in the publication of In a Canadian Garden (1989) and At Home in Canada (1995). She served as first chancellor of the Order of Ontario, was appointed a member of the Order of Canada in 2003, and is the recipient of six honorary degrees.

About the Prize

The Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Nonfiction is awarded for literary excellence in the category of nonfiction, which includes, among other forms, personal or journalistic essays, history, biography, memoirs, commentary, and criticism, both social and political. Finalist works will, in the opinion of the jury, demonstrate a distinctive voice, as well as a persuasive and compelling command of tone, narrative, style, and technique. This award succeeds the Writers’ Trust Nonfiction Prize, which was established in 1997.

About the Writers’ Trust

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs, including literary awards, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.

*Reg’d TM. Lic’d use


For more information and interview opportunities contact:

Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502,

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2017. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc