Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

Rogers WT Shortlist

Writers’ Trust Announces First Fiction-Prize Shortlists of the Season

October 1, 2014 –The Writers’ Trust of Canada revealed this morning the finalists for two major prizes for excellence in Canadian fiction: the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and the Writers’ Trust/McClelland and Stewart Journey Prize. The announcement was made at Ben McNally Books.

The five finalists for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, recognizing writers of the year’s best novel or short story collection, were announced by Jan Innes, vice president, government relations, Rogers Communications, along with writer and prize juror Helen Humphreys; the three finalists for the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize, recognizing new and developing writers for the best short story first published in a Canadian literary journal during the previous year, were announced by jurors Steven W. Beattie and Craig Davidson.

Both prizes will be presented on November 4 at the Writers’ Trust Awards event in Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio.

Finalists for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize:

André Alexis
Published by Coach House Books

Steven Galloway
(New Westminster, BC) 
The Confabulist
Published by Knopf Canada

K.D. Miller
All Saints 
Published by Biblioasis

Carrie Snyder
(Waterloo, ON)
Girl Runner
Published by House of Anansi

Miriam Toews
All My Puny Sorrows
Published by Knopf Canada

Each of the five finalists will receive $2,500, with the eventual prizewinner receiving a total of $25,000. The finalists were chosen by Neil Bissoondath, Helen Humphreys, and George Murray. They read 127 books from 52 publishers. The prize is sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc.

Finalists for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize will appear at the International Festival of Authors in Burlington, Ontario, October 28 and in Toronto on October 29.

Finalists for the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize:


Tyler Keevil
Published in The New Orphic Review.

Lori McNulty (Vancouver)
"Monsoon Season
Published in Descant

Clea Young (Vancouver)
Published in The Fiddlehead

Each of the three finalists will receive $1,000, with the eventual prizewinner receiving a total of $10,000, and the journal that originally published the winning entry receiving $2,000. The finalists were chosen by Steven W. Beattie, Craig Davidson, and Saleema Nawaz. The prize is made possible by James A. Michener’s donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his 1988 novel Journey. In association with the prize, McClelland & Stewart will publish the 2014 edition of the annual fiction anthology The Journey Prize Stories, a collection of the 13 stories that formed the longlist for this year’s prize.

About the Writers’ Trust

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs, including ten national literary awards, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country. 

About the Writers’ Trust Awards event

An annual event awarding $139,000 to Canadian writers, the Writers’ Trust Awards evening is one of the richest prize-giving nights in Canada. Jared Bland, arts editor, The Globe and Mail, will emcee this year’s festivities in Toronto on November 4, 2014. Four additional prizes for a body of work will be presented at the ceremony – including the inaugural Latner Writers’ Trust Poetry Prize:

The Writers’ Trust Awards are made possible through generous support from corporate, foundation, and individual sponsors. As a media partner, The Globe and Mail provides additional support. The project is partially funded by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage Canada Book Fund.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:

Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502


Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are intending to read this summer. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc