Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize jury

Writers’ Trust Announces Jury for 2017 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize

August 22, 2017Toronto – The Writers’ Trust of Canada is pleased to announce the three-member jury for the 2017 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Recognizing the year’s best Canadian novel or short story collection, the prize is now in its 21st year. The jurors are: Michael Christie, Christy Ann Conlin, and Tracey Lindberg.

Finalists for the prize will be announced on September 27, 2017 at 6:00AM EDT. The 2017 prizewinner will be announced on Tuesday, November 14 at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony at Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto. Six further awards for Canadian writers will also be presented at this event.

The prizewinner will receive $25,000; each nominee will receive $2,500. Past winners include Austin Clarke, Miriam Toews, Emma Donoghue, André Alexis, and Yasuko Thanh.

“For more than two decades, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize has identified the best new Canadian fiction, sharing it with readers across the nation and beyond,” said Mary Osborne, executive director of the Writers’ Trust. “We are hugely grateful to Rogers, which has sponsored the prize since its inception in 1997, for its ongoing commitment to Canadian voices.”

About the Jury

Michael ChristieMichael Christie is the author of If I Fall, If I Die, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, won the Northern Lit Award, and was selected as a New York Times Editors’ Choice in 2015. His collection of short stories, The Beggar’s Garden, was a finalist for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and won the Vancouver Book Award. Born in Thunder Bay, Ontario, Christie completed an MFA at the University of British Columbia and now lives on Galiano Island.


Christy Ann ConlinChristy Ann Conlin is a writer who lives in Wolfville, Nova Scotia. Her first novel, Heave, was a Globe and Mail “Top 100” book in 2002 and was a finalist for the First Novel Award, the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award, and the Dartmouth Book Award. Her second novel, The Memento, was published last year. Conlin completed an MFA at the University of British Columbia and teaches in the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies creative writing program.

Tracey LindebergTracey Lindberg is a citizen of As’in’i’wa’chi Ni’yaw Nation, Rocky Mountain Cree, and hails from the Kelly Lake Cree Nation community. She is an award-winning writer for her academic work and teaches Indigenous law at the University of Ottawa. Her first novel, Birdie, was a finalist for the Kobo Emerging Writer Award and the 2016 edition of CBC’s Canada Reads. Lindberg lives near Ottawa.


Click each thumbnail to download larger images of the jurors.

About the Prize

The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize recognizes Canadian writers of exceptional talent for the year’s best novel or short-story collection as selected by a three-member independent judging panel. The prize has been sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc. since its inception in 1997.

About the Writers’ Trust of Canada

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs including literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:
Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are intending to read this summer. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc