Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is pleased to announce the three-member jury for the 2016 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize: Lauren B. Davis, Trevor Ferguson, and Pasha Malla

Writers’ Trust Announces Jury for 20th anniversary Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize

August 16, 2016
Toronto – The Writers’ Trust of Canada is pleased to announce the three-member jury for the 2016 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Recognizing the year’s best Canadian novel or short story collection, the prize is celebrating its 20th anniversary this year. The jurors are: Lauren B. Davis, Trevor Ferguson, and Pasha Malla.

Finalists for the prize will be announced on September 21, 2016 at 6:00am EDT, accompanied by a celebratory social media campaign honouring the 2016 nominees and two decades of past winners. The 2016 prizewinner will be announced on Wednesday, November 2 at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony at Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto.

The prizewinner will receive $25,000; each nominee will receive $2,500. Past winners include Austin Clarke (1997), Alice Munro (2004), Joseph Boyden (2005), Miriam Toews (2008, 2014), Emma Donoghue (2010), and André Alexis (2015).

“Each year for two decades, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize has offered readers a shortlist of the best new Canadian fiction – a history that represents a real who’s who of Canadian literature,” said Mary Osborne, executive director of the Writers’ Trust. “We look forward to finding out which five books this year’s jury will be adding to that esteemed list of past nominees and winners as we celebrate the prize’s 20th anniversary.”

About the Jury

Lauren B DavisLauren B. Davis is a critically acclaimed author and creative writing teacher. Her work includes the novels Against a Darkening SkyThe Empty Room; Our Daily Bread, which was longlisted for the Giller Prize; and The Radiant City, which was a finalist for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. She is also the author of two collections of short stories. Born in Montreal, she now lives in Princeton, New Jersey.

Trevor FergusonTrevor Ferguson
 is the author of seven novels, including The River Burns, under his own name and a further five, including The Storm Murders and Seven Days Dead, under his pseudonym, John Farrow.  His novel The Timekeeper won the Quebec Writers' Federation's Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction and was adapted into a feature film. He lives in Hudson, Quebec.

Pasha MallaPasha Malla
’s first book, the short story collection The Withdrawal Method, won the Danuta Gleed Literary Award and the Trillium Book Award, as well as being shortlisted for the Commonwealth Book Prize and longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. His debut novel, People Park, was shortlisted for the First Novel Award. Malla lives in Hamilton, Ontario.


About the Prize

The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize recognizes Canadian writers of exceptional talent for the year’s best novel or short-story collection as selected by a three-member, independent judging panel. The prize has been sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc. since its inception in 1997. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the prize.

About the Writers’ Trust of Canada

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs including literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:
Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are intending to read this summer. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc