Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

! @Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize doubles to $50K

Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize Purse Doubles

Winner to receive $50,000, finalists $5,000 each

Toronto – September 26, 2017 – The Writers’ Trust of Canada is delighted to announce that, beginning this year, the prize purse for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize will double to $70,000, with $50,000 going to the winner and $5,000 to each of the four nominees.

The finalists for the 2017 prize will be announced tomorrow, September 27, at 6:00am EDT. The winner will be announced on November 14 at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony, at which seven literary awards and more than $250,000 will be presented to Canadian writers.

Now in its 21st year, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize recognizes the year’s best Canadian novel or short story collection. Past winners include: Austin Clarke (1997), Alice Munro (2004), Lawrence Hill (2007), Emma Donoghue (2010), AndrĂ© Alexis (2015), and Yasuko Thanh (2016). The prize has been sponsored by Rogers Communications since its inception in 1997.

“As a Canadian communications company, Rogers is committed to the publication and celebration of Canadian voices,” said Steve Maich, Senior Vice President, Digital Content & Publishing, Rogers Media. “Rogers is proud to have sponsored this prize since its inception, and delighted to boost its support for Canada’s writers, shining a spotlight on the best Canadian literary talent.”

“Fifty-thousand dollars can be a life-changing amount for a writer,” said Mary Osborne, Executive Director, Writers’ Trust of Canada. “The Writers’ Trust is hugely grateful to Rogers for its strong commitment to this prize, and for its long history of support for Canadian writers.”

The prizewinner will be announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony in Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio on November 14. Additional prize information is available at

About the Writers’ Trust of Canada

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs that includes ten national literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.

About the Writers’ Trust Awards Ceremony

An annual event awarding more than $250,000 to Canadian writers, the Writers’ Trust Awards Ceremony is one of the richest prize-giving nights in Canada. Nick Mount, author of Arrival: The Story of CanLit, will emcee this year’s event on November 14. Awards to be presented are:

For a single book:

For a single short story:

For a body of work:

The Writers’ Trust Awards is made possible through generous support from corporate, foundation, and individual sponsors. Partners CBC Books, The Globe and Mail, and Indigo provide additional support. The project is partially funded by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:
Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2017. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc