Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 shortlist

Writers’ Trust Announces Finalists for $50,000 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize

Purse doubles in prize’s 21st year

Toronto – September 27, 2017 –
The Writers’ Trust of Canada has revealed this morning the finalists for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, recognizing writers of the year’s best novel or short story collection. This year, the prize purse has doubled: each finalist will now receive $5,000 and the prizewinner will receive a total of $50,000. The winner will be announced on November 14.

The five finalists are:

Carleigh Baker Bad Endings Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 finalistCarleigh Baker (Vancouver, BC)
for Bad Endings
Anvil Press
"A skillfully woven tapestry of stories."


Claire Cameron The Last Neanderthal Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 finalistClaire Cameron (Toronto, ON)
for The Last Neanderthal 
Doubleday Canada
"Feminist literature of the highest order."


David Chariandy Brother Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 finalistDavid Chariandy (Vancouver, BC)
for Brother
McClelland & Stewart
"A world where beauty abounds in the most unexpected spaces."

Omar El Akkad American War Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 finalistOmar El Akkad (Portland, OR)
for American War
McClelland & Stewart
"El Akkad exposes the way the politics of resentment and revenge can fester and self-propagate."


Leanne Betasamosake Simpson This Accident of Being lost Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 finalistLeanne Betasamosake Simpson (Peterborough, ON)
for This Accident of Being Lost
House of Anansi Press
"A luminous interweaving of Nishnaabeg storytelling, narrative, and poetry."

The finalists were selected by a jury composed of writers Michael Christie, Christy Ann Conlin, and Tracey Lindberg. They read 141 books submitted by 67 publishers.

Past prizewinners include: Austin Clarke (1997), Alice Munro (2004), Lawrence Hill (2007), Emma Donoghue (2010), André Alexis (2015), and Yasuko Thanh (2016). The prize has been sponsored by Rogers Communications since its inception in 1997.

“Over two decades, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize has produced an essential reading list of the very best Canadian books,” said Steve Maich, Senior Vice President, Digital Content & Publishing, Rogers Media. “Rogers is proud to support Canadian voices through the annual presentation of this prize, and to help writers to continue their vital work: to inform, to entertain, and to share Canada’s stories.”

Finalists for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize will appear in conversation at the International Festival of Authors in Toronto on October 25. Read more about the event and purchase tickets.

The winner will be announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony at Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio on November 14. In total, seven literary awards and more than $250,000 will be presented to Canadian writers at this event.

Additional prize information is available at

About the Writers’ Trust of Canada

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs that includes ten national literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.

About the Writers’ Trust Awards Ceremony

An annual event awarding more than $250,000 to Canadian writers, the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony is one of the richest prize-giving nights in Canada. Nick Mount, author of Arrival: The Story of CanLit, will emcee this year’s event on November 14. Awards to be presented are:

For a single book:

For a single short story:

For a body of work:

The Writers’ Trust Awards is made possible through generous support from corporate, foundation, and individual sponsors. Partners CBC Books, The Globe and Mail, and Indigo provide additional support. The project is partially funded by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:
Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are intending to read this summer. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc