Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

2016 Writers' Trust McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize finalists announced Sept 15. $10,000 Journey Prize winner announced November 2 at the Writers' Trust Awards.

Writers’ Trust Announces Finalists for $10,000 Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize

September 15, 2016 
– Toronto The Writers’ Trust of Canada has revealed the finalists for the Writers’ Trust/McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize, recognizing new and developing writers for the best short story first published in a Canadian literary journal during the previous year. The winner will be announced on November 2.

The three finalists, selected by a jury composed of writers Kate Cayley, Brian Francis, and Madeleine Thien, are:

Charlie Fiset (Kenogami Lake, ON) for “IF I EVER SEE THE SUN,” The Fiddlehead, Journey Prize

Charlie Fiset
(Kenogami Lake, ON)
for “If I Ever See the Sun,”
Published in The Fiddlehead

Colette Langlois (Edmonton, AB) for “THE EMIGRANTS,” PRISM international, Journey Prize

Colette Langlois
(Edmonton, AB)
for “The Emigrants,”
Published in PRISM international


J.R. McConvey
(Toronto, ON)
for “How The Grizzly Came to Hang in the Royal Oak Hotel,”
Published in EVENT

Each of the three finalists will receive $1,000, the prizewinner will receive a total of $10,000, and the journal that originally published the winning entry will receive $2,000. This prize is made possible by James A. Michener’s donation of his Canadian royalty earnings from his 1998 novel Journey. In association with the prize, McClelland & Stewart will publish the 2016 edition of the annual fiction anthology The Journey Prize Stories, a collection of the 11 stories that formed the longlist for this year’s prize.

This is the 28th year of the Journey Prize. Past winners include Yann Martel, Alissa York, Saleema Nawaz, and Yasuko Thanh. 

The winner of the Journey Prize will be announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards ceremony in Toronto’s Glenn Gould Studio on Wednesday, November 2, where a total of seven national literary awards and $219,000 in prize money will be presented to Canadian writers.

About the Writers’ Trust of Canada

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs including ten national literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country. 

About the Writers’ Trust Awards Ceremony

An annual event awarding $219,000 to Canadian writers, the Writers’ Trust Awards is one of the richest prize-giving nights in Canada. CBC Radio broadcaster and new host of q Tom Power will emcee this year’s event on November 2. In addition to the Journey Prize, awards to be presented are:

For a single book:

For a body of work:

The Writers’ Trust Awards are made possible through generous support from corporate, foundation, and individual sponsors. Partners CBC Books, The Globe and Mail, and Indigo Chapters provide additional support. The project is partially funded by the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage Book Fund.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:
Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are intending to read this summer. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc