Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

A Place Called No Homeland by Kai Cheng Thom

Writers’ Trust Announces Winner of LGBTQ Emerging Writers Prize

Kai Cheng Thom Receives the Dayne Ogilvie Prize in Vancouver

Vancouver, BC June 3, 2017 – The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced today that Kai Cheng Thom is the winner of the 2017 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers. The $4,000 prize is presented annually to an emerging writer who belongs to the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer community, and whose published work demonstrates great literary promise. The winner was announced at a ceremony in Vancouver hosted by Leah Horlick, 2016 winner of the Dayne Ogilvie Prize.

Finalist_Thom, Kai-Cheng

Kai Cheng Thom
is a writer, performance artist, and psychotherapist. She has been widely published as an essayist and poet, and is currently a feature writer at Everyday Feminism. Thom is the author of the poetry collection A Place Called No Homeland and the novel Fierce Femmes and Notorious Liars. She lives in Toronto.


A jury composed of author Jane Eaton Hamilton, journalist Elio Iannacci, and professor and poet Trish Salah selected the winner. Their citation reads:

Kai Cheng Thom’s Fierce Femmes and Notorious Liars is a delicious and fabulist refashioning of a trans memoir as fiction. It is a cacophonous coming-of-age story and a genre-breaking refusal of the idea that the only stories trans people have to tell are their autobiographies. Her poems in A Place Called No Homeland are jelly-tender, tough as knives. They ride the borderland into and through trauma, relationships, love, and power, and carry us out deepened and changed over to the other side. Thom’s work is sheer joyful exuberance, creativity, and talent.

The jurors also selected two finalists, Ali Blythe and Eva Crocker.

Finalist_Blythe, Ali

Ali Blythe
is the editor-in-chief of The Claremont Review. His poetry collection, Twoism, was nominated for the Dorothy Livesay Prize earlier this year. Blythe completed a residency at the Banff Centre and a writing degree at the University of Victoria, receiving the Candis Graham Writing Scholarship from the Lambda Foundation. He lives in Vancouver.



Finalist_Crocker, Eva

Eva Crocker
’s short story collection Barrelling Forward was shortlisted as a manuscript for the 2015 RBC Fresh Fish Award for Emerging Writers. Her stories have been published in Riddle Fence, The Overcast, and The Cuffer Anthology. Crocker recently completed an M.A. in English literature at Memorial University. She lives in St. John’s.



About the Prize

Robin Pacific established the prize in 2007 to honour her late friend, Dayne Ogilvie, who was a respected editor, writer, literary manager, and passionate lover of all the arts. Presented for the 11th year in 2017, past winners of the prize include Amber Dawn, Farzana Doctor, Zoe Whittall, and Michael V. Smith.

About the Writers’ Trust

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs, including literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:
Mary Osborne, 416-504-8222 x244

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are intending to read this summer. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc