Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

Ben Ladouceur, 2018 Dayne Ogilvie Prize winner

Writers’ Trust Announces Winner of LGBTQ Emerging Writers Prize

Ben Ladouceur awarded the Dayne Ogilvie Prize

Toronto, ON June 16, 2018 – The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced today that Ben Ladouceur is the winner of the 2018 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ emerging writers. The $4,000 prize is presented annually to an emerging writer from the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer community and whose published work demonstrates great literary promise. The winner was announced at a ceremony in Toronto hosted by inaugural prizewinner Michael V. Smith.

Ladouceur_BenBen Ladouceur’s first collection of poems, Otter, was selected as a best book of 2015 by the National Post, awarded the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, and nominated for a Lambda Literary Award. He won the 2012 Earle Birney Poetry Prize, which is presented by PRISM International, for his poem “Gran Vals.” Ladouceur is the prose editor for Arc Poetry Magazine and a regular columnist for Open Book. He lives in Ottawa.

A jury composed of authors Ali Blythe, Greg Kearney, and Shannon Webb-Campbell selected the winner. Their citation reads:

Ben Ladouceur’s Otter is a supremely, almost eerily assured first collection. His poetry is cunning and supple, chatty and tender, artfully antic. Sifting through these pieces one gets the sense of an artist who has long ago absorbed and synthesized his influences, who is incapable of the derivative or the repetitive. Ladouceur’s innate wit and feel for narrative indicate an expansive sensibility that will effortlessly span genres in years to come. He is all one could hope for in a new writer: someone with chops and fodder, someone fully formed and bent on risk.

The jurors also selected two finalists, Trish Salah and Joshua Whitehead.

Salah_TrishTrish Salah is a poet who has authored two collections: Lyric Sexology Vol. 1 and Wanting in Arabic, for which she won a Lambda Literary Award in 2014. Born and raised in Halifax, Salah is currently based in Kingston, Ontario, where she is a professor of gender studies at Queen’s University. Her creative and scholarly work addresses transgender and transsexual politics and experience, diasporic Arab identity and culture, anti-racism, and queer politics.

Whitehead_JoshuaJoshua Whitehead is an Oji-Cree, Two-Spirit storyteller and academic from Peguis First Nation on Treaty 1 territory in Manitoba. He is working toward a PhD in Indigenous literatures and cultures at the University of Calgary on Treaty 7 territory. In 2016, his poem “mihkokwaniy” won Historica Canada’s Aboriginal Arts and Stories contest. He is the author of the poetry collection Full-Metal Indigiqueer and the novel Jonny Appleseed.

About the Prize

Robin Pacific established the prize in 2007 to honour her late friend, Dayne Ogilvie, who was a respected editor, writer, literary manager, and passionate lover of all the arts. Past winners of the prize include Amber Dawn, Farzana Doctor, Zoe Whittall, and Michael V. Smith.

About the Writers’ Trust

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs, including literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.

- 30 -

For more information and interview opportunities please contact:

Megan Leahy, 647-783-7668

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are intending to read this summer. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc