Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

2018 Dayne Ogilive Prize finalists

Writers’ Trust Reveals Finalists for LGBTQ Emerging Writers Award

Dayne Ogilvie Prize to be presented at Canadian Writers’ Summit

Toronto, ON
May 17, 2018 – The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced today three finalists for the 2018 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers. The $4,000 prize is presented annually to an emerging writer from the lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer community and whose published work demonstrates great literary promise.

The finalists are: Ben Ladouceur, Trish Salah, and Joshua Whitehead.

Ladouceur_BenBen Ladouceur’s first collection of poems, Otter, was selected as a best book of 2015 by the National Post, awarded the Gerald Lampert Memorial Award, and nominated for a Lambda Literary Award. He won the 2012 Earle Birney Poetry Prize, which is presented by PRISM International, for his poem “Gran Vals.” Ladouceur is the prose editor for Arc Poetry Magazine and a regular columnist for Open Book. He lives in Ottawa.


Salah_TrishTrish Salah is a poet who has authored two collections: Lyric Sexology Vol. 1 and Wanting in Arabic, for which she won a Lambda Literary Award in 2014. Born and raised in Halifax, Salah is currently based in Kingston, Ontario, where she is a professor of gender studies at Queen’s University. Her creative and scholarly work addresses transgender and transsexual politics and experience, diasporic Arab identity and culture, anti-racism, and queer politics.


Whitehead_JoshuaJoshua Whitehead is an Oji-Cree, Two-Spirit storyteller and academic from Peguis First Nation on Treaty 1 territory in Manitoba. He is working toward a PhD in Indigenous literatures and cultures at the University of Calgary on Treaty 7 territory. In 2016, his poem “mihkokwaniy” won Historica Canada’s Aboriginal Arts and Stories contest. He is the author of the poetry collection Full-Metal Indigiqueer and the novel Jonny Appleseed.


The finalists were selected by a jury composed of authors Ali Blythe, Greg Kearney, and Shannon Webb-Campbell.

The finalists will be celebrated and the winner announced at a ceremony in Toronto hosted by inaugural prizewinner Michael V. Smith. Free and open to the public, the event will take place during the Canadian Writers’ Summit at the Harbourfront Centre on Saturday, June 16 at 5:30 pm. Event details are at

About the Prize

Robin Pacific established the prize in 2007 to honour her late friend, Dayne Ogilvie, who was a respected editor, writer, literary manager, and passionate lover of all the arts. The Dayne Ogilvie Prize rewards LGBTQ writers of any age who are in the developing stages of their career and whose body of work to date demonstrates great potential. Past winners of the prize include Kai Cheng Thom, Amber Dawn, Farzana Doctor, and Zoe Whittall.

About the Writers’ Trust

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs, including literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.


For more information and interview opportunities contact:

Mary Osborne, 416-504-8222 x244

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are intending to read this summer. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc