Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

2017 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers

Writers’ Trust Announces Finalists for LGBTQ Emerging Writers Award

Dayne Ogilvie Prize to be presented in Vancouver

Toronto, ON May 17, 2017 – The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced today three finalists for the 2017 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBTQ Emerging Writers. The $4,000 prize is presented annually to an emerging writer who identifies as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer, and whose published work demonstrates great literary promise.

The finalists are: Ali Blythe, Eva Crocker, and Kai Cheng Thom. They were selected by a jury composed of author Jane Eaton Hamilton, journalist Elio Iannacci, and poet and professor Trish Salah. Each finalist receives $250 in prize money and promotional support from the Writers’ Trust of Canada.

Finalist_Blythe, Ali
Ali Blythe
is the editor-in-chief of The Claremont Review. His poetry collection, Twoism, was nominated for the Dorothy Livesay Prize earlier this year. Blythe completed a residency at the Banff Centre and a writing degree at the University of Victoria, receiving the Candis Graham Writing Scholarship from the Lambda Foundation. He lives in Vancouver.


Finalist_Crocker, Eva
Eva Crocker
’s short story collection Barrelling Forward was shortlisted as a manuscript for the 2015 RBC Fresh Fish Award for Emerging Writers. Her stories have been published in Riddle Fence, The Overcast, and The Cuffer Anthology. Crocker recently completed an M.A. in English literature at Memorial University. She lives in St. John’s.



Finalist_Thom, Kai-Cheng
Kai Cheng Thom
is a writer, performance artist, and psychotherapist. She has been widely published as an essayist and poet, and is currently a feature writer at Everyday Feminism. Thom is the author of the poetry collection A Place Called No Homeland and the novel Fierce Femmes and Notorious Liars, for which she was nominated for a Lamba Literary Award. She lives in Toronto.

The finalists will be celebrated and the winner announced at a ceremony in Vancouver hosted by 2016 prizewinner Leah Horlick. Free and open to the public, the event will take place during the Writers’ Union of Canada’s OnWords Conference on Saturday, June 3, 2017 at Simon Fraser University’s Harbour Centre.

About the Prize

Robin Pacific established the prize in 2007 to honour her late friend, Dayne Ogilvie, who was a respected editor, writer, literary manager, and passionate lover of all the arts.

Presented for the 11th year in 2017, the Dayne Ogilvie Prize rewards emerging writers whose body of work demonstrates great potential and who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, or queer. Past winners of the prize include Amber Dawn, Farzana Doctor, Zoe Whittall, and Michael V. Smith.

About the Writers’ Trust

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs, including literary awards, a fellowship, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:
Mary Osborne, 416-504-8222 x244

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2017. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc