Make a contribution to the Writers' Trust of Canada Donate Now

2016 Dayne Ogilive Prize winner and finalists Leah Horlick, Gwen Benaway, Jia Quing Wilson-Yang

Leah Horlick Wins 10th Dayne Ogilive Prize

Award for LBGT Emerging Writers to be Presented at Canadian Writers' Summit

Toronto – June 7, 2016 –The Writers’ Trust of Canada announced today that Leah Horlick is the winner of the 10th annual Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emerging Writers. The $4,000 prize is presented annually to an emerging writer who identifies as lesbian, gay, bisexual, or transgender, and whose published work demonstrates great literary promise. This year’s prize ceremony will take place at Toronto’s Harbourfront Centre on June 18, as part of the Canadian Writers’ Summit.

In addition, honours of distinction will be given to Gwen Benaway and jia qing wilson-yang, who will each receive $250 in prize money.

Leah HorlickLeah Horlick is a writer and poet who grew up in Saskatoon. She now lives in Vancouver, where she and Esther McPhee co-curate REVERB, a queer and anti-oppressive reading series. She has published two collections of poetry, Riot Lung, which was shortlisted for a ReLit Award and a Saskatchewan Book Award, and For Your Own Good, which received an honour from the American Library Association’s Stonewall Book Awards.

A jury composed of bookseller Anjula Gogia, poet Billeh Nickerson, and fiction writer Casey Plett selected the winner and honour of distinction recipients. Their citation on the winner reads:

Leah Horlick’s poetry harvests solace and beauty from lands often thought too dark to cultivate. Hers is a poetry of surviving and, indeed, thriving in the spaces where prairie meets ocean and where love can be complicated. Both Riot Lung and For Your Own Good are must reads. Rarely has a poet transformed silence and taboo into such potent epiphanies.

Gwen BenawayGwen Benaway is a two-spirited poet of Anishinaabe and M├ętis descent. She was born in Huron Country and currently lives in Toronto. Her first collection of poetry, Ceremonies for the Dead, was published in 2013 and her second collection is forthcoming from Kegedonce Press this fall.


Jia Quing Wilson-Yangjia qing wilson-yang is a mixed race trans woman living in Toronto. Her debut novel, Small Beauty, was published by Metonymy Press this spring. Her writing has appeared in Room magazine and the anthology Letters Lived: Radical Reflections, Revolutionary Paths.


“For the past decade, the Dayne Ogilvie Prize has shone a light on the talented writers emerging from Canada’s LGBT community,” said Mary Osborne, executive director of the Writers’ Trust. “Recognition from the jury provides these writers an encouraging psychological boost and spurs them on as their careers develop.” 

The prizewinner and honour of distinction recipients will be celebrated at a ceremony hosted by past prize houree Brian Francis. This special event takes place during the Candaian Writers' Summit on Saturday, June 18 at Toronto's Harbourfront Centre. The event is free to attend and all are welcome (event details).

About the Prize

Robin Pacific established the prize in 2007 to honour her late friend, Dayne Ogilvie, who was a respected editor, writer, literary manager, and a passionate lover of all the arts.

Presented for the 10th year in 2016, the Dayne Ogilvie Prize rewards emerging writers whose body of work demonstrate great potential and who identify as gay, lesbian, bisexual, or transgender. Past winners of the prize are Alex Leslie, Tamai Kobayashi, C.E. Gatchalian, Amber Dawn, Farzana Doctor, Nancy Jo Cullen, Debra Anderson, Zoe Whittall, and Michael V. Smith

About the Writers’ Trust of Canada

The Writers’ Trust of Canada is a charitable organization that seeks to advance, nurture, and celebrate Canadian writers and writing through a portfolio of programs including literary awards, a fellowhsip, financial grants, scholarships, and a writers’ retreat. Writers’ Trust programming is designed to champion excellence in Canadian writing, to improve the status of writers, and to create connections between writers and readers. Canada’s writers receive more financial support from the Writers’ Trust than from any other non-governmental organization or foundation in the country.


For more information and interview opportunities, contact:
Becky Toyne, 416-871-0502

Writers' Trust Sponsorship

Interested in Corporate
or Foundation sponsorship?

For more details about opportunities, recognition, and to see a list of our current sponsors...More


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2017. 

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc