Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award

Winner: $25,000
Made possible by donations from 


2013 Winner


At the time of the publication of her first collection of stories in 1995 it was immediately apparent that Lisa Moore was a writer of startling originality and compelling emotional truth. Since then she has been a constant and vital contributor to the world of Canadian letters, producing one acclaimed work of fiction after another, as well as writing articles and compiling anthologies. While her canvas is contemporary Newfoundland – in particular the city of St John’s where she lives – her understanding and portrayal of human character and relationships is universal. We fully expect further greatness from her, and are confident that her already extensive readership will continue to grow.

Selected Publications

Caught (2013)
February (2010)
Open (2002)
Degrees of Nakedness (1995)

About the Author

Lisa Moore is the author of three novels and two collections of short stories. In 2006, she won the regional Commonwealth Writers' Prize for best book for her first novel, Alligator. She was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize and won CBC’s Canada Reads competition for her second novel, February, which is based on the tragic true story of the 1982 Ocean Ranger oil-rig disaster. Earlier this year, Moore was nominated for the Scotiabank Giller Prize for the third time for her latest novel Caught. She was also finalist for this year’s Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Moore grew up on the outskirts of St. John's, and still makes her home there — and her writing is strongly influenced by her life in Newfoundland. She originally intended to be a visual artist (she attended the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design), and she continues to paint today, but she shifted her primary focus to writing after joining the writing group Burning Rock at Memorial University.

About the Prize

Marian EngelTimothy FindleyThe Writers' Trust Engel Findley Award is given to a writer in mid-career for a body of work, and in anticipation of future contribution to Canadian literature. Established in 2008, the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award was created by merging two previously existing prizes: the Marian Engel Award for a female writer in mid-career (1986-2007) and the Timothy Findley Award for a male writer in mid-career (2002 – 2007). Writers are judged on their body of work – no less than three works of literary merit which are predominantly fiction – rather than a single book. All Canadian writers are considered and no age restrictions apply. The winner is selected by a three-member, independent judging panel.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc