Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award

Winner: $25,000
Sponsored by Writers’ Trust Board of Directors, Pitblado Family Foundation, and Michael Griesdorf Fund

2016 Winner

Eden Robinson

Eden Robinson

Jury Citation

Eden Robinson is a master storyteller with an instantly recognizable style and a capacious sensibility that encompasses everything from traditional Haisla teachings to contemporary youth culture. Her vision is unflinching, her obsessions sometimes brutal, her observations visceral, yet at the same time all of her work is suffused with a deep empathy for her characters, and spiced by a tricksterish sense of humour that opens up new ways of understanding this land and its beautiful, damaged people. In a world where the legacies of colonial violence are alive and present every day, Robinson’s work resonates with crucial political and ethical questions that everyone needs to consider. This is vital, engaged, and artful writing that sticks in the memory and makes us think again about who, and where, we are.

– Jurors Warren Cariou, Annabel Lyon, Linda Spalding


Son of a Trickster (forthcoming February 2017)
Sasquatch at Home: Traditional Protocols & Modern Storytelling (2011)
Blood Sports (2006)
Monkey Beach (2000)
Traplines (1996)

Eden Robinson

About the Author

Eden Robinson is a novelist and short fiction writer from the Haisla First Nation. She is a recipient of the University of Victoria’s Distinguished Alumni Award. She has been a Writer-in-Residence at the Whitehorse Public Library, and works with the Writers in Electronic Residence program, which links schools across the country with professional writers. Her debut collection of stories, Traplines, won Britain’s Winifred Holtby Prize in 1997. Her novel Monkey Beach, which combines contemporary realism with Haisla mysticism, was shortlisted for the Giller Prize and a Governor General’s Literary Award, and received the Ethel Wilson Fiction Prize. She gave the 2010 Henry Kreisel Memorial Lecture, which was published as the memoir The Sasquatch at Home: Traditional Protocols & Modern Storytelling. Robinson’s third novel, Son of a Trickster, is forthcoming in spring 2017. She lives in Kitamaat, BC.

About the Jury

Warren Cariou is an associate professor of English at the University of Manitoba where he teaches Aboriginal Literature. He is the author of a book of short stories, The Exalted Company of Roadside Martyrs, and the memoir Lake of the Prairies, which won the 2002 Drainie-Taylor Biography Prize and was shortlisted for the Charles Taylor Prize.

Annabel Lyon’s first novel, The Golden Mean, won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, was shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and a Governor General’s Literary Award, and has been translated into 14 languages. Lyon is also the author of the novel The Sweet Girl, a story collection, a book of novellas, and two juvenile novels. She lives in New Westminster, BC.

Linda Spalding is the author of four novels and two acclaimed works of nonfiction. For her most recent novel, The Purchase, she received a Governor General’s Literary Award and was shortlisted for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Spalding lives in Toronto, where she is an editor of Brick magazine.

About the Prize

Marian EngelTimothy FindleyThe Writers' Trust Engel Findley Award is given to a mid-career writer in recognition of a remarkable body of work, and in anticipation of future contributions to Canadian literature. Writers are judged on their body of work – no less than three works of literary merit which are predominantly fiction – rather than a single book. All Canadian writers are considered and no age or gender restrictions apply. The winner is selected by a three-member, independent judging panel. (Established in 2008, the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award was created by merging two previously existing prizes: the Marian Engel Award for a female writer in mid-career, given from 1986-2007, and the Timothy Findley Award for a male writer in mid-career, awarded between 2002 – 2007.) 




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc