2016 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing Finalist

James McLeod  Turmoil, as Usual: Politics in Newfoundland and Labrador and the Road to the 2015 Election 2016 Shaughnessy Cohen prize finalist

James McLeod
Turmoil, as Usual: Politics in Newfoundland and Labrador and the Road to the 2015 Election

Creative Publishers


James McLeod

Jury Citation

Turmoil, as Usual is reporter James McLeod’s week-to-week diary of politics in Newfoundland and Labrador from September 2013 to December 2015 – a period of frenzy marked by a nasty factional struggle among the provincial New Democrats, a sequence of comic-opera crises for the reigning Conservatives, and an unfamiliar whirl of four premiers. McLeod’s quirky, intricate account has much to teach about Newfoundland, but do not overlook the universal lessons about retail politics and even journalism. The first draft of history is rarely so much fun.

About the Book

Newfoundland and Labrador had three premiers in a single year—three and a half, if you count Frank Coleman. An elected politician broke down crying on live radio. In less than eighteen months, the Official Opposition went from six to sixteen members. For Canada's easternmost province, the lead-up to the 2015 general election was the most turbulent time for politics in at least a generation, and Telegram reporter James McLeod had a front row seat for the whole strange spectacle. McLeod was there for all the big moments and interviewed all the key players. In Turmoil, as Usual, McLeod gives an an inside look and an unvarnished account of the people, the strategy, the gaffes and the farce that make up Newfoundland politics.

About the Author

James McLeod is the political reporter for The Telegram. He moved to the East Coast from Toronto in 2008 while pursuing a degree in journalism from Ryerson University and began covering national and local politics full-time in 2011. A past winner of the Atlantic Journalism Awards’ Jim MacNeill New Journalist Award, McLeod is a regular voice on CBC Radio. He lives in St. John’s.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


June 20 for books published between Jan 1 and June 19, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc