2013 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing Finalist

The War That Ended Peace

Margaret MacMillan 
The War That Ended Peace: The Road to 1914 
Allen Lane Canada



Jury Citation

The world had been at peace for decades when, in 1914, European leaders triggered a global war that none of them wanted. With The War That Ended Peace, Margaret MacMillan has written the definitive account of the political events that led to three decades of conflict – and explains their relevance to today’s militaries, governments, and societies.

About the Book

Beginning in the early 19th century and ending with the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, historian Margaret MacMillan uncovers the huge political and technological changes, national decisions, and the small moments of human muddle and weakness that led Europe from peace to disaster. It was a war that could have been avoided up to the last moment. The War That Ended Peace brings vividly to life the military leaders, politicians, diplomats, bankers, and the extended, interrelated family of crowned heads across Europe whose fateful decisions changed the course of history. MacMillan provides a wise cautionary reminder of how wars happen in spite of the near-universal desire to keep the peace.

About the Author

Margaret MacMillan is the warden of St Antony’s College and a professor of international history at the University of Oxford. She is the author of Paris 1919: Six Months that Changed the World, among other titles, and was the first woman to win the Samuel Johnson Prize. She is a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature; a senior fellow of Massey College, University of Toronto; and an honorary fellow of Trinity College, University of Toronto, and of St Hilda’s College, University of Oxford. She is a finalist for this year’s BC National Award for Canadian Nonfiction.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc