2007 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Winner

2007 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize winner Lawrence Hill for The Book of Negroes, published by HarperCollins

Lawrence Hill
The Book of Negroes

Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize 2007 winner Lawrence Hill

Lawrence Hill's The Book of Negroes is a work of epic, passionate storytelling, where history charts its course through the singular life of a remarkable woman. 

Aminata Diallo refuses to be one among the nameless, nor to let the nameless disappear into the invisible spaces of history. ‘Fear no man and come to know him,’ Aminata's father tells her early in the novel, and Lawrence Hill fearlessly follows this edict. A provocative, humane journey not only across oceans and back again, into homelands both stolen and reclaimed, but into the unfathomable depths of the soul of another.”

-2007 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize jury (Kevin Major, Kim Moritsugu, and Madeleine Thien)

About the Book

Abducted as an 11-year-old child from her village in West Africa and forced to walk for months to the sea in a coffle—a string of slaves— Aminata Diallo is sent to live as a slave in South Carolina. But years later, she forges her way to freedom, serving the British in the Revolutionary War and registering her name in the historic “Book of Negroes.” This book, an actual document, provides a short but immensely revealing record of freed Loyalist slaves who requested permission to leave the US for resettlement in Nova Scotia, only to find that the haven they sought was steeped in an oppression all of its own.

About the Author

Lawrence Hill is the author of ten books of fiction and nonfiction. The Book of Negroes won CBC’s Canada Reads in 2009 and was made into a six-part TV mini-series. A member of the Order of Canada, Hill lives in Hamilton, Ontario, and Woody Point, Newfoundland.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc