1998 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Winner

Greg Hollingshead for The Healer, published by HarperFlamingo Canada Winner of the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize Year 2: 1998

Greg Hollingshead
The Healer
HarperFlamingo Canada

1998 Greg Hollingshead for The Healer, published by HarperFlamingo Canada Winner of the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize

The nonexistence of safety is the silken thread woven throughout The Healer. That safety is not to be found in the heart of man, or of woman—not found even in a wilderness. But a wilderness is by definition a place where quietude exists. Mr. Hollingshead shows us that the wilderness is also a place fraught with danger. Love in this novel also does not possess the guarantee of being safe.

The Healer, written with intelligence, has a wide canvas of appeal and perspective on which the author has painted characters of brilliant and staggering beauty. It was a unanimous choice."

-1998 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize jury Joan Clark, Trevor Ferguson, and Austin Clarke

About the Book

When Tim Wakelin heads north, in search of a story about a local healer, he enters a world that is real yet strange. Drawn into a beautiful but unforgiving landscape, he quickly finds his veneer of control stripped away. This novel of unbridled power and original sensibility explores the fine line between madness and sanity, and between physical and spiritual reality.

About the Author

Greg Hollingshead grew up in Woodbridge, Ontario and studied at the University of Toronto and the University of London. He has published more than seventy stories and essays in magazines and anthologies in Canada, the U.S., and the U.K. His fourth book, The Roaring Girl, edited by Patrick Crean, won the 1995 Governor General's Award for Fiction. In 2007, Hollingshead was awarded the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Gold Medal for Excellence in the Arts and in 2012 he received the Order of Canada and the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. Hollingshead served as Chair of the Writers’ Union of Canada from 2011-12.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc