2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Finalist

Claire Cameron

Claire Cameron
The Last Neanderthal
Doubleday Canada

Claire Cameron


"In Claire Cameron’s engrossing and inventive novel The Last Neanderthal, the narratives of two females—one human, one Neanderthal, both separated by 40,000 years of history—are masterfully linked by a mysterious archeological find. 

This novel posits new questions surrounding the commodification of science, the emotional road to parenthood, and the evolutionary roots of our most basic drives. The struggles for survival in both storylines are rendered with empathy, and manage to prove that our worldly problems—whether modern or ancestral—have always been essentially the same. With great sophistication, The Last Neanderthal seeks out that which makes us human and the result is feminist literature of the highest order."

- 2017 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize jury Michael Christie, Christy Ann Conlin, and Tracey Lindberg 

About the Book

40,000 years in the past, the last family of Neanderthals roams the earth. After a crushingly hard winter, their numbers are low, but Girl, the oldest daughter, is just coming of age and her family is determined to travel to the annual meeting place and find her a mate. In the modern day, archaeologist Rosamund Gale works well into her pregnancy, racing to excavate newly found Neanderthal artifacts before her baby comes. Linked across the ages by the shared experience of early motherhood, both stories examine the often taboo corners of women's lives. 

About the Author

Claire Cameron’s writing has appeared in The New York Times, The Globe and Mail, Lenny Letter, and Salon, and she is a staff writer at The Millions. Her first novel, The Line Painter, won the 2008 Northern Lit Award from the Ontario Library Service and was nominated for an Arthur Ellis Crime Writing Award for best first novel. Her second novel, The Bear, was longlisted for the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction and won the 2014 Northern Lit Award. Cameron lives in Toronto.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are reading this summer.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc