2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Finalist

Carleigh Baker

Carleigh Baker
Bad Endings
Anvil Press

Carleigh Baker


"In Bad Endings, Carleigh Baker has created a skillfully woven tapestry of stories, centred on strong, contemporary female characters battling for agency over their own lives.

Whether standing in a river catching salmon as part of rehab, spending time on a honey farm, or riding the SkyTrain, Baker’s characters are wholly autonomous, and wholly convincing. Their lives are awkward, absurd, beautiful, and desperate. We were impressed by the precisely drawn dilemmas the characters face, the way each story traces a quiet yet inevitable arc. Bad Endings is a work of a profoundly talented writer who wields gentleness, subtlety, and generosity as her tools. These stories are not about happy endings—they are about powerful endings, and we found them nothing short of electrifying."

- 2017 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize jury Michael Christie, Christy Ann Conlin, and Tracey Lindberg 

About the Book

While steadfastly local in her choice of setting, Baker’s deep appreciation for nature takes a lot of these stories out of Vancouver and into the wild. Salmon and bees play reoccurring roles in these tales, as do rivers. Occasionally, characters blend with their animal counterparts, adding a touch of magic realism. Nature is a place of escape and attempted convalescence for characters suffering from urban burnout. 

About the Author

Carleigh Baker is a Métis/Icelandic writer. She won the 2017 City of Vancouver Book Award for Bad Endings and a 2012 subTerrain Magazine Lush Triumphant Award for her short fiction. Her work has appeared in Journey Prize Stories, PRISM International, Joyland, and This Magazine. Her book reviews and critical writing have appeared in The Globe and Mail, The Malahat Review, The Goose, and EVENT magazine, and she contributed to the anthology In This Together: Fifteen True Stories of Real Reconciliation. Baker lives in Vancouver.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are reading this summer.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc