2014 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Winner

Miriam Toews_All My Puny Sorrows 2014 winner of the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize

Miriam Toews
All My Puny Sorrows
Knopf Canada




"In All My Puny Sorrows Miriam Toews manages to marry humour and grief so expertly that the most unbearable sadness is tempered by laughter and can therefore be borne.

Yoli and Elf, the two sisters at the heart of the novel, are on opposite sides of a question about whether to live or die, but the love and compassion between them never falters. Toews, a dazzling literary alchemist who manages to summon all the joyous and heart-breaking humanity of her characters, has produced a work of astonishing depth. Reading it is an unforgettable experience."

-2014 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize Jury, Neil Bissoondath, Helen Humphreys, and George Murray


About the Author

Miriam Toews has written five novels, including A Complicated Kindness, which won a Governor General’s Literary Award in 2004, and The Flying Troutmans, which won the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize in 2008. She received the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award in recognition of her body of work in 2010. Originally from Steinbach, Manitoba, Toews now lives in Toronto.






Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc