2011 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Winner

Sisters Brothers by Patrick deWitt, 2011 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize winner

Patrick deWitt
The Sisters Brothers
House of Anansi Press


Patrick deWitt

"Cinematic in its scope, meditative in its tone, and brilliantly inventive in its characterization, The Sisters Brothers is a book unlike any you may read during this or the coming years. Unforgettable. 

Joyous and genre-bending, Patrick deWitt's exploration of the blurred lines between good and evil is masterful and mesmerizing. This is the sort of material that, in lesser hands, could easily have sunk into middling farce, but deWitt’s portrayal of the homicidal brothers and the quixotic roster of characters thrown in their path is fresh, moving, insightful, and always funny.

-2011 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize Jury (Emma Donoghue, Rabindranath Maharaj, Margaret Sweatman)

About the Book

Two brothers, Eli and Charlie Sisters, are notorious professional killers hired to kill a man named Hermann Kermit Warm. In seeking to complete their contract they travel from Oregon to California and experience a series of unsettling and violent encounters in nineteenth-century Gold Rush America. Charlie is the ruthless brother, intent on making money and killing anyone who stands in the way; Eli is a reluctant assassin, doubting his vocation and prone to falling in love. A tribute to the classic Western, The Sisters Brothers is an inventive and darkly comic novel exploring the perversity of human motivation.

Profile Video


About the Author

Patrick deWitt was born on Vancouver Island in 1975 and presently lives in Portland, Oregon. His previous novel, Ablutions, was named a New York Times Editors’ Choice book. The Sisters Brothers is a finalist for this year’s Man Booker Prize and has been longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc