2010 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Finalist

Michael WinterThe Death of Donna WhalenMichael Winter
The Death of Donna Whalen

Hamish Hamilton Canada

About the Book

Donna Whalen was stabbed in her home 31 times. Those close to her believe it was her abusive boyfriend but the evidence is circumstantial, providing a daunting challenge for police and prosecutors. In this work of documentary fiction, Michael Winter pieces together the transcripts and court testimonies of a real-life trial. He preserves the nuanced voice of each witness, and the result is a harsh account of the tragedy that befell Donna Whalen and the controversial aftermath that tore her town apart.

About the Author

Michael Winter’s debut novel, This All Happened, was nominated for this prize in 2000 and he was the recipient of the 2008 Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Prize. His other previous novels are The Architects Are Here and The Big Why. His sister, Kathleen Winter, is also nominated for this prize. Winter divides his time between Toronto and St. John’s.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc