2010 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Winner

2010 Winner of the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize Emma Donoghue for Room

Emma Donoghue

HarperCollins Publishers

Emma Donaghue, winner of the 2010 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize for Room

"Room is a brave novel that, through pure artistry, achieves a fine balance on a number of sharp edges: fierce love and unspeakable cruelty, delicate humour and glimpses of profound darkness. Rarely does such risk-taking pay off so richly.

Emma Donoghue's complex, multi-layered novel about being trapped illuminates the wild bravery of childhood, the bond between mother and son, the acquisition of language and how it can be jam-packed and bursting with meaning or emptied out.

Here is a boiled-down portrait of what it means to live with others and to live without them, all the different kinds of cages we build for others (and ourselves) and all those feelings that, try as we might, can’t be contained."

-2010 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize Jury (Lisa Moore, Andrew Pyper, Eden Robinson)

About the Book

Room is an emotionally powerful story of five-year-old Jack and his mother, who has been held captive in an eleven-by-eleven room for seven years. To Jack, Room is all that is real, but when he turns five he starts to ask questions, and his mother reveals to him that there is a world outside. Told entirely in the inventive, often funny voice of young Jack, this is not a horror story or tearjerker, but a celebration of resilience and the love between parent and child.

About the Author

Emma Donoghue is an award-winning Irish-Canadian writer whose published works include the internationally acclaimed historical drama Slammerkin and Frog Music. She has a Ph.D. from the University of Cambridge. After years of commuting between England, Ireland, and Canada, in 1998 Donoghue settled in London, Ontario, where she lives with her partner and their two children. Room was adapted as a Hollywood movie in 2015 starring Jacob Tremblay.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc