Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize

Winner: $50,000; Finalists: $5,000 
Sponsored by


For over 20 years the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize has recognized the best Canadian novel or short story collection. 

2017 Winner

David Chariandy
David Chariandy 
McClelland & Stewart

David Chariandy


Carleigh Baker Bad Endings Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 finalistCarleigh Baker (Vancouver, BC) 
for Bad Endings
Anvil Press
"A skillfully woven tapestry of stories."


Claire Cameron The Last Neanderthal Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 finalistClaire Cameron (Toronto, ON) 
for The Last Neanderthal 
Doubleday Canada
"Feminist literature of the highest order."


Omar El Akkad American War Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 finalistOmar El Akkad (Portland, OR) 
for American War
McClelland & Stewart
"El Akkad exposes the way the politics of resentment and revenge can fester and self-propagate."

Leanne Betasamosake Simpson This Accident of Being lost Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize 2017 finalistLeanne Betasamosake Simpson (Peterborough, ON) 
for This Accident of Being Lost
House of Anansi Press
"A luminous interweaving of Nishnaabeg storytelling, narrative, and poetry."


Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize jury 2017

Jurors Michael Christie, Christy Ann Conlin, and Tracey Lindberg read 141 books submitted by 67 publishers.

Michael Christie is the author of If I Fall, If I Die, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, won the Northern Lit Award, and was selected as a New York Times Editors’ Choice in 2015. His collection of short stories, The Beggar’s Garden, was a finalist for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and won the Vancouver Book Award. Born in Thunder Bay, Ontario, Christie completed an MFA at the University of British Columbia and now lives on Galiano Island.

Christy Ann Conlin is a writer who lives in Wolfville, Nova Scotia. Her first novel, Heave, was a Globe and Mail “Top 100” book in 2002 and was a finalist for the First Novel Award, the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award, and the Dartmouth Book Award. Her second novel, The Memento, was published last year. Conlin completed an MFA at the University of British Columbia and teaches in the University of Toronto School of Continuing Studies creative writing program.
Tracey Lindberg is a citizen of As’in’i’wa’chi Ni’yaw Nation, Rocky Mountain Cree, and hails from the Kelly Lake Cree Nation community. She is an award-winning writer for her academic work and teaches Indigenous law at the University of Ottawa. Her first novel, Birdie, was a finalist for the Kobo Emerging Writer Award and the 2016 edition of CBC’s Canada Reads. Lindberg lives near Ottawa.

About the Prize

The Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize recognizes Canadian writers of exceptional talent for the year’s best novel or short-story collection as selected by a three-member, independent judging panel. The prize has been sponsored by Rogers Communications Inc. since its inception in 1997. The winner is announced at the Writers’ Trust Awards in Toronto.

About the Sponsor

Rogers Communications is a leading provider of Wireless, Cable TV, High Speed Internet and Home Phone services to consumer residences and businesses in Canada. They have generously sponsored this award since it was created in 1997.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are reading this summer.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc