RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

2018 Short Fiction

Finalists: Sarah Christina Brown, Khalida Hassan, Maria Reva

2017 Poetry

Winner: Noor Naga
Finalists: Tyler Engström, Domenica Martinello

2016 Short Fiction

Winner:  Brendan Bowles
Finalists: Allegra McKenzie and Hannah Rahimi

2015 Poetry

Winner: Alessandra Naccarato
Finalists: Irfan Ali and Chuqiao Yang

2014 Short Fiction

Winner: Erin Frances Fisher
Finalists: Leah Jane Esau and Jakub Stachurski

2013 Poetry

Winner: Laura Clarke
Finalists: Laura Matwichuk, and Suzannah Showler

2012 Short Fiction

Winner: Jen Neale
Finalists: Dina Del Bucchia, Kathy Friedman

2011 Poetry

Winner: Garth Martens
Finalists: Raoul Fernandes, Anne-Marie Turza

2010 Short Fiction

Winner: Kilby Smith-McGregor
Finalists: Shashi Bhat, Claire Tacon

2009 Poetry

Winner: Emily McGiffin
Finalists: Michael Johnson, Jeff Latosik

2008* Short Fiction

Winner: Marjorie Celona
Finalists: Ben Lof, Grace O’Connell

2006 Poetry

Winner: Jeramy Dodds
Finalists: Bren Simmers, Michael Reynolds

2005 Short Fiction

Winner: Nicole Dixon
Finalists: Angela Long, Amy Jones

2004 Poetry

Winner: Alison Calder
Finalists: Elizabeth Bachinsky, Suzanne Hancock, David Hickey, Anna Swanson

2003 Short Fiction

Winner: Gillian Best
Finalists: Kelly Dignan, Nathan Whitlock

2002 Poetry

Winner: Alison Pick
Finalists: Alison Calder, Seema Goel

2001 Short Fiction

Winner: Valerie Stetson
Finalists: Melanie Jessica Little, Robert McGill, Tanis Rideout, Padma Viswanathan

2000 Poetry

Winner: Sonnet L'Abbe
Finalists: Ceiran Bishop, Erina Harris, Anita Lahey

1999 Short Fiction

Winner: Alissa York
Finalists: Elaine O’Connor, Madeleine Thien

1998 Poetry

Winner: Talya Rubin
Finalists: Sarah de Leeuw, Astrid van der Pol

1997 Short Fiction

Winner: Rachel Rose
Finalists: Gail Andrews, Alan Levin, Oscar Martens, Tanya Palmer, Elizabeth Moret Ross

1996 Poetry

Winner: Stephanie Bolster
Finalists: Jacqueline Larson, Shannon Stewart

1995 Short Fiction

Winner: Adele Megann
Finalists: Natalee Caple, Denise Ryan

1994 Poetry

Winner: Michael Crummey
Finalists: Nancy Cullen, Noah Leznoff, Tonja Gunvaldsen Klaassen

*In 2007, the prize presentation was moved from the fall to the following spring, explaining why no award is listed in 2007.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


June 20 for books published between Jan 1 and June 19, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc