RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

2018 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Submissions for the 2018 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award are now closed.

A prize of $10,000 will be awarded to the best work of short fiction. Two honourable mentions will each receive $2,500. Each finalist will win a mentorship opportunity and a trip to Toronto to attend the award ceremony on May 28, 2018.

Prize Guidelines

Established in memory of writer Bronwen Wallace, this award alternates each year between short fiction and poetry. The 2018 prize will be given for an outstanding work of unpublished short fiction. Bronwen Wallace felt that young writers should have more opportunities for greater recognition early in their careers, and so this annual award is given to a writer below the age of 35 who has published poetry or prose in a literary magazine, journal, or anthology, but has not yet been published in book form and is without a book contract.

To be eligible, a writer must be:
  • A Canadian citizen or permanent resident
  • Under the age of 35 as March 5, 2018
  • Previously published in an independently edited literary magazine, journal, or anthology
  • Unpublished in book form and without a book contract

Candidates should submit 5-10 pages (up to 2,500 words) of unpublished short fiction.

By submitting to this award, candidates grant the Writers’ Trust of Canada permission to publish their work in print and digital formats should they be shortlisted. All rights reserved by the author.

Formatting Guidelines

  • Give your submission one overall title. Include that title at the top of your manuscript and in the file name of your PDF, and ensure both match the name given for your submission. You do not need a title page within your submission.
  • Your manuscript must not include your name or identifying information.
  • Include consecutively numbered page numbers.
  • Do not use images within your manuscript.
  • Use any font you wish in 11pt size.
  • Double or 1.5 line spacing is preferred.
  • Your submission can be a single short story or an excerpt from a longer piece of fiction.

For more information please contact:
Amanda Hopkins, Program Manager
1-877-906-6548 x242 (toll free)






Woodcock Fund



Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


May 16 for books published between Mar 14 and May 15, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc