Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life

Winner: $20,000

Prize Guidelines

This award is presented annually to a Canadian writer whose life has been dedicated to writing as a primary pursuit, in honour of distinguished work in poetry or prose, in English or French, and in hope of further work to come.

Established in 2001, the award is named in memory of Matt Cohen, winner of the Governor General’s Literary Award for Fiction (1999) and a founding member of the Writers’ Union of Canada. The prize is worth $20,000.

All Canadian writers whose life has been dedicated to writing as a primary pursuit are considered. An independent committee selects the winner, and there is no submission process. 




Woodcock Fund



Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


May 16 for books published between Mar 14 and May 15, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc