David Adams Richards





David Adams Richards was born in Newcastle, New Brunswick, in 1950, and is the author of fourteen novels, a book of short stories, and five books of nonfiction. The Washington Post called his novel Mercy Among the Children “a contemporary masterpiece ... in the ... tradition of Tolstoy, Camus and Melville.” The Globe and Mail, called a recent book of nonfiction, God Is, “an unconventional prose-poem in three movements, extolling plain speaking about the mysterious moments that transformed the child born lame on the left side and who became the drinking companion of arsonists, thieves, drug dealers and murderers, into the mature writer too often called ‘our Tolstoy’ and too rarely ‘our Blake.’” Whether we call him our Tolstoy, Camus, Melville or Blake, we are delighted to call this year’s winner of the Matt Cohen Award simply our David Adams Richards.
— 2011 Prize jury

Selected Publications

Facing the Hunter (2011)
Incidents in the Life of Markus Paul (2011)
God Is (2009)
The Lost Highway (2007)
The Friends of Meager Fortune (2006)
River of the Broken-Hearted (2004)
Mercy Among the Children (2000)
Lines on the Water: A Fisherman's Life on the Miramichi (1998)
The Bay of Love and Sorrows (1998)
Hockey Dreams: Memories of a Man Who Couldn't Play (1996)
For Those Who Hunt the Wounded Down (1993)
Nights Below Station Street (1988)
Road to the Stilt House (1985)
Lives of Short Duration (1981)
The Coming of Winter (1974)

About the Author

David Adams Richards is a novelist, essayist, screenwriter, and poet. Born in Newcastle, New Brunswick, he wrote his first novel at the age of 20. He won the Governor General’s Award for Nights Below Station Street in 1988, and won again for his nonfiction book, Lines on Water: A Fly Fisherman’s Life on the Miramichi, a decade later. In 2000, Mercy Among the Children shared the Giller Prize with Michael Ondaatje’s Anil’s Ghost. The following year he received Canadian Booksellers Association Libris Award for both Novel of the Year and Author of the Year. Richards has also won two Gemini Awards for his screenplays for Small Gifts and For Those Who Hunt the Wounded Down. In 2009, he was named to the Order of Canada for his contribution to Canadian literature. Richards has been a writer-in-residence at various universities and colleges across Canada, including the University of New Brunswick. He is currently the Artist in Residence at St. Thomas University. This year Richards published two books: a novel, Incidents in the Life of Markus Paul; and a work of nonfiction, Facing the Hunter. Richards lives in Fredericton with his wife Peggy.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite reads in 2017.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc