Latner Writers' Trust Poetry Prize

Winner: $25,000
Sponsored by Latner Family Foundation

2015 Winner

Karen Solie Covers

Karen Solie



Jury Citation

Karen Solie’s most recent collection, The Road In Is Not The Same Road Out, confirms that she is at the forefront of Canadian poetry. As readers have come to expect, her poems are full of sharp turns of reason, panoramic views of our interiors, and dazzling juxtapositions. She curates her collections into nearly indestructible exhibitions of coherence and quality, rewarding our attention with insight and wisdom. Each sentence has the force of a proverb. Over the past 15 years, Solie has garnered respect for her commitment to poetry, her intelligence, her maturity of perception and emotion, her take-it-or-leave-it-honesty, and, of course, her humour. Her work sits as comfortably on university syllabi as it does on bedside tables. She writes from inside of us, with a voice as disarming, insistent, and unpredictable as consciousness itself.


The Road In Is not the Same as the Road Out (March, 2015)
Modern and Normal
Short Haul Engine

About the Author

Karen Solie is one of Canada’s leading contemporary lyric poets. She was born in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan in 1966 and grew up on her family’s farm in rural Saskatchewan. Her first book of poetry, Short Haul Engine, was published in 2001 and won the Dorothy Livesay Poetry Prize and was shortlisted for the Griffin Poetry Prize. Her second book of poetry, Modern and Normal, was published in 2005 and was shortlisted for a Trillium Book Award the following year. In 2010 she won the Griffin Poetry Prize, a Trillium Book Award, and the Pat Lowther Memorial Award for her third collection, Pigeon. She has served as the writer-in-residence at various universities and arts centres across the country, including the University of Alberta and University of New Brunswick. Earlier this year Solie published The Road In Is Not the Same Road Out.   

About the Jury

Ian WilliamsIan Williams is the author of Personals, shortlisted for the Griffin Poetry Prize, and Not Anyone's Anything, winner of the Danuta Gleed Literary Award for the best first collection of short fiction. In 2012 he was named as one of ten Canadian writers to watch by CBC Books. He recently returned to Toronto after a year as the Canadian Writer-in-Residence at the University of Calgary. 

Susan MusgraveSusan Musgrave is the author of 27 books of poetry, fiction, nonfiction, and children's literature. She is a three-time nominee for the Governor General’s Literary Awards: for fiction with her first novel, The Charcoal Burners; and twice for poetry with her collections A Man to Marry, A Man to Bury and Origami Dove. In 2014, Musgrave won the Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life. She lives on Haida Gwaii, British Columbia. 

AF MoritzA. F. Moritz has written fifteen books of poetry, and has received the Guggenheim Fellowship, the Award in Literature of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters, and the Ingram Merrill Fellowship. His collection The Sentinel won the 2009 Griffin Poetry Prize. His most recent collection, Sequence, was published earlier year. Moritz lives in Toronto.

About the Prize

The Latner Writers' Trust Poetry Prize is given to a mid-career poet in recognition of a remarkable body of work, and in anticipation of future contributions to Canadian poetry. Poets are judged on their body of work – no less than three published collections – rather than a single book. All Canadian poets are considered and no age restrictions apply. The winner, selected by a three-member, independent judging panel, is announced annually at the Writers’ Trust Awards.

About the Sponsor

Founded in 1972 by Albert and the late Temmy Latner, the Latner Family Foundation has been providing support to health care, education, social development, and the arts in the Greater Toronto Area.




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
and Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize


July 18 for books published between May 16 and Sept 30, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are reading this summer.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc