Awards - Writers' Trust of Canada

The Writers’ Trust stands out for recognizing Canadian writers not only for single works, but also with prizes that reward remarkable literary careers. Click below to read more about our ten annual prizes to both emerging and established authors.

Shuaghnessy Cohen Prize

David Chariandy, 2017 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize winner

James Maskalyk 2017 Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction winner

Sharon Bala 2017 Writers' Trust / McClelland & Stewart Journey Prize winner

Louise Bernice Halfe 2017 Latner Writers' Trust Poetry Prize winner

Billie Livingston 2017 Writers' Trust Engel/Findley Award winner

Diane Schoemperlen 2017 Matt Cohen Award: In Celebration of a Writing Life winner

Ruby Slipperjack 2017 Vicky Metcalf Award for Literature for Young People winner

Noor Naga 2017 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Kai Cheng Thom 2017 Dayne Ogilvie Prize for LGBT Emergign Writers winner




Woodcock Fund



Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing


September 19 for books published between June 20 and September 18, 2018


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about what they are reading this summer.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc