Writers' Trust Fellowship

Nominations now open for the 2017 Writers' Trust Fellowship, worth $50,000

We are now accepting nominations for the 2017 Writers' Trust Fellowship. Read the guidelines and submit your pick before April 27, 2017.

2016 Fellow: Miriam Toews, Toronto


Selected Publications

  • Swing Low: A Life (2000)
  • A Complicated Kindness (2004)
  • The Flying Troutmans (2008)
  • Irma Voth (2011)
  • All My Puny Sorrows (2015)


About the Author

Miriam Toews WT Fellow

Miriam Toews was born and raised in the Mennonite town of Steinbach, Manitoba. She is the author of six novels and one work of nonfiction. Toews is a recipient of a Governor General’s Literary Award, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize (twice), and the Writers’ Trust Engel/Findley Award. Her novel A Complicated Kindness won the 2006 edition of CBC Canada Reads. She was awarded the Harbourfront Festival Prize last month in recognition of her advocacy for the mentally ill and support for young writers. A native of Manitoba, Toews now lives in Toronto.

Jury Citation

Miriam Toews is a writer central to our national literature, straddling with ease the often separate worlds of critical acclaim and popular grass-roots readership. She has given the Manitoba Mennonites—heretofore a community under-represented almost to the point of invisibility—a worldwide profile, and she has done it in ways that make their deeply rooted stories universal.

Among her many strengths are her rare gift for inhabiting the minds of children and adolescents, and a mastery of family dynamics: typically vivid and movingly drawn is the sibling relationship at the heart of her novel All My Puny Sorrows. With the imaginative memoir Swing Low: A Life, about her father, she explored the theme of mental illness with a bravery few writers have shown. She has a unique ability to generate humour alongside heartache, enlivening life’s dark moments with her quick, offhand wit.

Miriam Toews WT Fellow


Woodcock Fund


Writers' Trust Fellowship


April 27, 2017

Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize and Hilary Weston Writers' Trust Prize for Nonfiction
First Submission Deadline

May 24, 2017


Recommended Reading List

We asked some of Canada's finest writers about their favourite books of 2016.

Read their Recommendations.


E Newsletter Sign Up

Sign-up for our eNewsletter. Get info about Authors and our latest Events.

Sign up now!

Site design & development supported by

ecentricarts inc